Posted on

Food Virgin Diaries

A Brief History

I should start by saying I have never really liked food with taste. Even my dog, Link, is a picky eater. I enjoy the taste of chicken or potatoes and do not need my food covered in a rosemary demi-glaze for me to enjoy it. Who needs The French Laundry when you can have a plain chicken fajita, no sauce, from Mighty Taco? Conversations in my house go like this:

Beautiful Understanding Wife Lisa: You should try this hummus Tim. You would really like it.

Me: …..

Beautiful Understanding Wife Lisa: It’s super bland. You like super bland food.

Me: ……

Beautiful Slightly Less Understanding Wife Lisa: You really need to branch out.

Me: …..

Food is a challenge for me and I hope this blog enables me to show the humorous and often confrontational journey that is being an adult who is afraid of taste.

3 responses to “Food Virgin Diaries

  1. This sounds like it is going to be hilarious. As of right now, and I’m sorry, I am going to be on your “Beautiful Understanding Wife’s” side. I love all different kinds of food, and enjoy experimenting with new flavors when I cook.
    I do, however, live with picky eaters. This could be very helpful to me.

  2. I do have to say this is one of the blogs I really looking forward to reading. I am a very picky, non – adventurous eater also who is slowly trying new things due to peer pressure! Usually when I am out to dinner with friends, I order the same thing and they never let me live it down.

    Hopefully, I will gain some new insights and things to try!

  3. I’m really excited to read about your journey through taste. I wouldn’t say I’m the most adventurous when it comes to flavor either. I tend to order the same things when going out to eat and have my go-to foods. I figure I like what I like, so why rock the boat? I never thought I was a picky eater until one day I heard myself listing all the things I can’t stand eating. Good luck on your journey!

Leave a Reply

